Are You a Postcrosser?

My friends are pretty lucky – so they tell me – because my love for stationery brings them many sentimental and often uplifting surprises in the form of letters, cards and post cards. If you happen to love receiving fan mail check out this new project I learned about from one of our customers: Postcrossing

Enjoy – Janiece

“What is Postcrossing?” you ask.

Postcrossing is the coolest thing since sliced bread, in my opinion. The  project’s goal is to allow you to receive postcards from all over the world, for free. Well, almost free! (international postage is required). The main idea is this: if you send a postcard, you will receive at least one back from a random Postcrosser from somewhere in the world.

Take a look at the collection of photos I’ve taken of the postcards I have and will be sending out. I’m so excited to see what comes of this! (below)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I picked out a few postcards from here in the store (see photos). We have a fabulous collection of Portland Landscape and Bridges that are also locally made by Red Bat Press and New Found Image. I have sent out 4 this week to the Netherlands, The Republic of Belarus and Russian Federation. Each of these people are going to look into their mail boxes and be surprised to find a special note from me.  People who wouldn’t otherwise know about Portland, will know a little bit from an “insider” like me. And, in turn, I will learn a little bit about others who are far-far-away. The added bonus: I will expand my post card and stamp collection! Where are my stamps??


This entry was posted in Local, Local Designer, Portland Company, Post Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Are You a Postcrosser?

  1. hi. Such a wonderful idea BUT somehow i find it hard to join the steps to do it is kinda not friendly. I once saw also a pen pal project but i was too late because they started last 2010 and no posts anymore how it went. DO you have plans of like creating, initiating such happy experience of not just exchange of postcards but of the old-fashioned-snail mailing? I hope you would 🙂

    stay blessed!
    bluefish!

  2. papergirlpdx says:

    Hi Marge,

    I appreciate your comment. And, thank you for reaching out with your feedback and questions. Here are my thoughts on your comment.

    I believe Postcrossing is intended to allow people to share post cards to and from strangers throughout the world. You can write as much or as little as you would like depending on your level of comfort sharing information with people you don’t know through the post. Post Cards seem like a great piece of collateral as they do not require a return address, therefore allowing the sender to retain some anonymity. HOWEVER, I don’t believe you are relegated to sending only post cards, I can see how some people would want to send a folded greeting card to someone. The point is to share images and information about your part of the world with someone else, from food, culture, landscape, advertisements, etc. Each person’s profile indicates their preference of theme. What comes of the connections you make is up to you. Postcrossing seems to make available a simple framework for people to connect.

    If you are having an unfriendly user experience (trouble setting up your profile, for example), I would suggest maybe letting the webmaster know so they can make plans to modify the site. User experience is of great importance to a web developer and to an online project.

    Let me know what you find out in your process; and, if you decide to try it out! I’ve already sent my 5 this week await my next set of addresses! I’m really excited.

    Best,
    Janiece

    P.s. I would like to add that I am not nor is ECRU affiliated with Postcrossing. I found the project to be interesting and worth sharing with others as it pertains to the stationery world.

Comments are closed.